The house with the Monkey


The house with the Monkey of Nikola Koiuv is a Renaissance house in the center of Veliko Tarnovo. It was built by Usta Kolyo Ficheto in 1849. The name of the house comes from the monkey sculpture high above the ground floor. The famous collector of Bulgarian antiquaries Stefan Penev-Akhtar (about 1806 – 1860) lived in this house for a while, who found and kept for science one of the two copies of the Boril synod. The house is an architectural monument and has been turned into a museum. It is among the symbols of Veliko Tarnovo. It is located in the central part of the town, at the very beginning of the picturesque Samovodska charshia.